Albion Take On Newly-Promoted Leicester Lions in Match Day Four

September 20, 2023
Posted in Albion News
September 20, 2023 Albion

After a fantastic start to the season, Albion’s squad is ready to embark on their second home game of the season against newly-promoted Leicester Lions on Saturday.

The Lions won a hugely impressive 25 of their 26 games last season en route to victory in National League 2 West last season, securing their promotion to Nat 1 in the process.

Leicester started this campaign with a win at home over Sale, before pushing Cinderford hard away from home. A clinical performance from Blackheath saw the second-placed side take victory at Westleigh Park last weekend.

The competitive performances have made for a solid start to the season for Leicester early doors this season, and as ever in arguably the closest division in English Rugby, we are prepared for a tough game.

We head into match day four off the back of a hard-fought win at Bishop’s Stortford that helped us climb up to third in Nat 1, level on points with Blackheath ahead and Rosslyn Park behind.

114 points in the opening three games of the campaign are reason for optimism and excitement at the club, and we now head into the fourth game of the season aiming to continue our good run.

Team News:

Harry Wilkinson and Jenson Boughton come back into the starting line-up, while Tom Cowan-Dickie is rested. Gabe Mead is back in the match day squad as the replacement Hooker having recovered from a shoulder injury.

Brad Howe starts in the second row alongside Angus Hodges, with Dan Collier moving to the bench. Sonny Hirini switches to Flanker, with Pita Ratukadreu shifting to right wing. Seta Raumakita starts at Centre, and Crag Duncan moves to Left Wing.

Sam Daly starts in his 50th appearance for the club, and his fourth competitive start since returning in the summer.

Morgan Stone makes his first start of the season as Jack Oulton goes from the replacement pool, while Connor Eastgate is also back in the squad.

The Team in Full:

  1. Dan Pullinger
  2. Harry Wilkinson
  3. Jenson Boughton
  4. Brad Howe
  5. Angus Hodges
  6. Sonny Hirini
  7. Torin Clarke
  8. Sam Daly (C)
  9. Morgan Stone
  10. Phil Jones
  11. Craig Duncan
  12. Archie Hill
  13. Seta Raumakita
  14. Pita Ratukadreu
  15. Tom Putt


16. Gabe Mead

17. Ramaz Rukhadze

18. Dan Collier

19. Jack Oulton

20. Connor Eastgate