Fuge Throwback

November 3, 2022 Albion

After 84 years at Beacon Park, a new era starts for Albion on this day when they play their first game at the Brickfields against Otley. Incidentally, they were also the last team to play at Beacon Park on 26th April 2003, Albion winning 50pts to 13. The Brickfields Land was now leased by Plymouth City Council to Plymouth Albion RFC and was formerly part of the famous Raglan Barracks, constructed between 1854-58, the only remaining building is the ‘Doric Style’ main gate-clock tower.

There were many new innovations at the Brickfields, such as a new Grandstand with seating for 780, and a new “Shed”. Another difference is that the pitch now runs north to south, whereas Beacon Park was east to west. The new clubhouse has more capacity and there are 3 Marquees, the Coors marquee with seating for over 200 and its own terraced decking area, the Village marquee is now much larger, and the match sponsor marquee also has a terraced decking area.

Otley have a well-prepared Squad. Their big forwards, together with their direct running threequarters, have the ability to cause Albion some problems. Today will be the first time our supporters will have seen the team at home in 4 months with a lot of new players. Albion have named an unchanged team for their historic first match at the Brickfields. Albion got their season off to a winning start last Saturday away to Coventry winning 23pts to 19.

Sadly, the game finished in a very disappointing defeat in front of a Crowd of 3162, Albion 10 Otley 16, especially as Albion had won the previous 4 Matches. At half time Albion were 10pts to nil up. The second half was a different story with the visitors’ pack more than a match for the home forwards, and scoring 16 unanswered points, a small consolation was Albion scored the first points of the game at the Brickfields, through a try by Keni Fisilau in the 37th minute.

Albion Team. 15 Nat Saumi 14 Nigel Simpson 13 Ross Winey 11 Pat Sykes 10 Matt Carrington (Captain) 9 Nigel Cane 8 Daniel Ward-Smith 7 Kevin Foote 6 Danny Thomas 5 Andy Perry 4 Will James 3Tino Paoletti 2 Stewart Pearl 1 Pete Risdon.
Replacements, Tom Barlow Dai Llewellyn Chris Lowrie Brett Luxton Dan Parkes Chris Roland and Lee Robinson.