Fuge's Throwback

October 27, 2021
October 27, 2021 Albion

Devon Cup 3rd Round. Plymouth Albion v Newton Abbot

On Saturday 6th February 1971, Albion were to play Newton Abbot at Beacon Park, K.O. 3pm. Both Club’s had byes in the second-round and the winners would  reach the Quarter Final, and play Torquay at the Recreation Ground.

Albion were able to call on Cornwall No 8 Ron Glazsher, who had recovered from a knee injury, and he was selected in the second row replacing Geoff Morris. Andy Boatman, a former Bart’s Hospital player was brought into the Front Row, replacing veteran Nick Southern. Newton Abbot’s results so far this season did not compare with Albion’s, but in a Cup Match the form book can go out the”window”.
Prior to kick off Albion were forced to replace second row, Dave Jessop, due an injury during the “warm up”, and recalled Geoff Morris. Newton Abbot kicked off and the Albion Forwards having caught the Ball charged into the visitors half, passing the ball between them until Gordon Thompson crossed for the opening try, converted by Full Back Gordon Hook, all within the opening minutes Albion were in front.
By half -time Albion were 31pts to nil ahead. At the start of the second half the visitors play began to improve, although the home side still dictated most of the play, with Gordon Hook finishing with six conversions and a penalty goal, thereby having scored points in every match this season. Andy Boatman was proving a “hand-full” for the visitors as he ran head-long into the opposition, resulting in him scoring two tries.
Captain Nick Vosper, revelled in the combined forwards and backs type of play, and had support from centre Roger Morrish who also added extra penetration. After a disastrous first half Newton had put up a creditable second half performance, the final score was Albion 42 pts Newton 3.

Albion Team

15. Gordon Hook 14. Barry Attis. 13. Richard Friend. 12. Roger Morrish. 11. Dave Westlake. 10. John Putt. 9. Nick Vosper. 8. Gordon Thompson.7. Chris Martin. 6. Ray Smith. 5. Geoff Morris.4. Ron Glazsher. 3. Mike Treagust.  2. Brian Gurry.1. Andy Boatman.