Plymouth Albion v Blackheath – Match Preview

November 1, 2023
November 1, 2023 Albion

After two weekends without a fixture, Albion are back in National League 1 action on Saturday as they prepare to face Blackheath. 

Saturday will form our fourth home fixture of the season, and we will look to continue our 100 per cent record at the Brickfields with a strong performance against a Blackheath side who have been no pushovers on their return to the third tier of English rugby.

The newly-promoted London-based side have made a strong start to life back in Nat 1, winning four of their opening seven games to find themselves sixth in the table.

Two of those wins have come away from home against fellow promoted sides Taunton and Leicester Lions and, like ourselves, come into match day eight off the back of a defeat before the break.

A strong performance from Cinderford helped them to a 20-12 win in Gloucestershire midway through October, but you learn more from defeat than through victory, and the last few weeks have provided an excellent opportunity to recharge and strengthen as we prepare to get back into the swing of things.

The run of seven games will end nine days before Christmas, so every point – including any that we shake from the trees this weekend – will be crucial against some tough opposition.

Team News:

Ramaz Rukhadze comes back in at Loosehead Prop as Dan Pullinger moves to Tighthead with Harry Wilkinson at Hooker.

Torin Clarke comes back into the third row alongside Angus Hodges and Sam Daly, while the returning Robin Wedlake starts on the left wing. Seta Raumakita, making his 100th appearance for the club, moves back into the centre, and Pita Ratukadreu switches the left wing for the right. Craig Duncan replaces Tom Putt at Full-Back after the former picked up a knock in the week.

Brad Howe returns to the squad on the bench alongside Gabe Mead, Jenson Boughton, Morgan Stone and Jesse Lowe.

The Team in Full:

  1. Ramaz Rukhadze
  2. Harry Wilkinson
  3. Dan Pullinger
  4. Hallam Chapman
  5. Dan Collier
  6. Angus Hodges
  7. Torin Clarke
  8. Sam Daly
  9. Jack Oulton ©
  10. Phil Jones
  11. Robin Wedlake
  12. Archie Hill
  13. Seta Raumakita
  14. Pita Ratukadreu
  15. Craig Duncan


  1. Gabe Mead
  2. Jenson Boughton
  3. Brad Howe
  4. Morgan Stone
  5. Jesse Lowe